Skip to main content

Databases

New Here?

Take a moment to learn about this page.

Start Tour

 Multisubject Databases

 New Databases

Total results: 328

1

19th Century British Pamphlets

More than 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven UK universities. This collection is searchable in JSTOR. To search for pamphlets, click on pamphlets in the narrow by section of the advanced search page.

  • Subject:
  • History

19th Century UK Periodicals

Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world.

A

ABI/INFORM Collection

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular news in business, economics, marketing and management.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Communication and Media
  • Economics
  • Finance and Investment
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Learning and Leadership
  • Marketing
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Political Science and Public Service

Abstracts in Anthropology

Journal providing abstracts of academic articles in anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.

  • Subject:
  • Anthropology

Academic OneFile

Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, popular news and magazines, and other resources spanning a broad range of disciplines.

  • Subjects:
  • English 1010/1011
  • Film Resources
  • Multisubject Databases
NEW

Academic Video Online

Comprehensive scholarly streaming video database. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Multisubject Databases
  • New
  • Streaming Media

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection

Highly ranked global and scholarly journals with other key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important financial issues of the day.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business

ACS Advances in Chemistry ebook archive

Peer-reviewed book series with content beyond the scope of ACS journals.

  • Subject:
  • Chemistry

ACS Journals

Trusted scholarly articles from the American Chemical Society.

  • Subjects:
  • Chemistry
  • eJournal Collections

ACS Symposium ebook archive

Peer reviewed books on a wide variety of chemistry and agricultural topics. Access up to 4 years ago.

  • Subject:
  • Chemistry

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

Advanced technology literature in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.

  • Subject:
  • Engineering

Agricola

Agriculture literature from the National Agricultural Library.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

Includes AGRICOLA, Environmental Science and Pollution Management and Environmental Impact Statements.

  • Subject:
  • Biology

Alexander Street Video

Access to all Alexander Street video collections available at UTC

  • Subject:
  • Streaming Media

America History & Life

History, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

  • Subject:
  • History

America History & Life With Full Text

280+ of full-text history journals and 80+ books covering history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Trial

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection

Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912

  • Subject:
  • History

American Book Prices Current

ABPC is used by dealers, appraisers, libraries, scholars, etc., for buying, selling and evaluating books, serials, autographs, manuscripts, broadsides, maps and documents, based on actual figures realized at auctions.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Reference Tools

American FactFinder

Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas

  • Subjects:
  • Open Access - Social Science
  • Sociology

American Fiction

Comprehensive collection of American fiction from 1774 to 1920.

American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR)

Encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Law

Annual Reviews

Review articles in biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Access to all subjects (except Economics) with a 5 year moving wall while selected subjects are available through current.

  • Subject:
  • eJournal Collections

Anthropological Index Online (AIO)

An index of scholarly articles and films held by the Royal Anthropological Institute.

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Open Access - Social Science

Anthropological Literature

Cultural, linguistic, social and applied anthropology, archaeology, folklore, and more.

  • Subject:
  • Anthropology

Applied Social Services Index & Abstracts

Includes scholarly literature in the applied social sciences fields, including psychology, nursing, social work, women's studies, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

ArchiveGrid

Index of archival collections at libraries, museums, and historical societies worldwide.

Archives Unbound

Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level.

ARL SPEC Kits

Surveys that gather information on library practices and policies from members of the Association of Research Libraries. Not available off campus.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection

Current and comprehensive indexing for fine art, art history, architecture, design, and applied arts.

  • Subjects:
  • Art
  • Interior Design

ARTbibliographies Modern

Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention.

  • Subject:
  • Art

Artcyclopedia

Index of museum-quality images and links to museum collections.

  • Subjects:
  • Art
  • Open Access - Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities Database

Full text articles from contemporary journals in arts, humanities, cultural studies, philosophy, religion, history, literature, music, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Music
  • Theatre and Speech

ArXiv

Open access to research in physics, math, computer science, statistics, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine
  • Physics

ASCD Education ebooks

Includes titles on instruction, classroom management, leadership, assessment, and more.

  • Subject:
  • Education eBooks

ASCE: American Society of Civil Engineers

Respected literature on civil engineering from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

  • Subjects:
  • Engineering
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts

Focused research on the science, tech, management, and conservation of aquatic environments.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science

Asian American Drama

Contains plays by Asian American playwrights. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

Associated Press Collections Online

Wire copy, videos, images, papers, style books, internal publications, and more from the Associated Press. Collections are News Features/Internal Communications and the following bureaus: U.S. City, Washington, D.C., Middle East, and Europe.

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library

Journals, newsletters, and proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • Conference Proceedings
  • eJournal Collections

Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service

Literature coverage in astronomy, astrophysics, as well as access to the arXiv repository.

  • Subjects:
  • Astronomy
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine
  • Physics

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Index of journal articles, essays, reviews, and books covering all fields of religion.

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Philosophy
  • Religion

Avalon Project

Documents in law, history, and diplomacy.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Law
  • Open Access - Social Science

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Comprehensive index of architecture and design, including history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.

  • Subjects:
  • Art
  • Interior Design

B

Ballentine's Law Dictionary

Contains over 40,000 definitions of legal terms (3rd edition).

  • Subject:
  • Law

Biological Sciences

Scientific literature covering a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology & ecology, and some aspects of agriculture, and veterinary science.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Environmental Science

bioRxiv

Archive of unpublished preprints in the life sciences.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

Black Drama

Contains plays by black playwrights. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

Black Thought & Culture

Non-fiction published works (essays, letters, speeches, etc.) of leading African Americans.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • History

Bloomsbury ebooks

Ebooks with a primary focus on the humanities

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books

Books

UTC Library catalog

Books and Authors

Recommendations, synopses, themes and plots to help you select the book you want to read next.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Reference Tools

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture

Collection of Luso-Brazillian material with a focus on 19th century Brazil.

British Library Newspapers

Complete searchable archives of national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society from 1732-1950.

British Literary Manuscripts

Digitized manuscripts of poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers by British authors from 1660-1900.

  • Subject:
  • English

Building Green

Reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and analysis of high-performance buildings.

  • Subject:
  • Interior Design

Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers and Pamphlets

Largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Mostly from London but also includes Irish and Scottish papers.

Business Collection

Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Economics
  • Finance and Investment
  • Marketing

Business Expert Press ebooks

eBooks covering various practical aspects of business and management.

  • Subject:
  • Business

Business Insights Essentials

In depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, and histories.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Economics
  • Finance and Investment
  • Marketing

Business Market Research Collection

Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from 1986 to the present. Content from Hoover's, OxResearch, Barnes Reports, and Snapshots.

  • Subject:
  • Business

Business Source Premier

Searchable fulltext and cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Economics
  • Engineering
  • Learning and Leadership
  • Marketing
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Psychology

C

Career Transitions

Career and job search tools

  • Subject:
  • Careers and Test Preparation

Catalog (UTC Library)

UTC Library catalog

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)

Directory of US government publications.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

CCH AnswerConnect Tax Research

Access to federal and state tax information, including forms, codes, cases, IRS publications, plus relevant news.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business

Chatham House Online

Research, publications, speeches and archives of the leading international affairs think tank, The Royal Institute of International Affairs, Chatham House, London from 1920-2010.

ChemSpider

Chemical structure database including over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

  • Subjects:
  • Chemistry
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

Children's Literature Review

Criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Includes volumes 1-200 from 1976 through 2015. The Library is no longer adding new volumes for this title.

China: From Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary per

Documents the thoughts of Chinese intellectuals and Western missionaries and diplomats about China, and their efforts to understand Chinese culture and transform the nation in the years before 1949.

Choice Reviews Online

Reviews of academic library materials. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

  • Subject:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More

Chronicling America

Over 2,500 American newspapers with coverage from 1789 to 1963.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • News and Newspapers
  • Open Access - Arts and Humanities

CINAHL Complete

Comprehensive coverage of the literature for nursing and allied health disciplines.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Clase and Periodica

Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities, sciences, and technology. Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English.

Clinical Trials

US government listing of ongoing and completed clinical trials.

  • Subjects:
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

Cochrane Library

The leading resource for systematic reviews in healthcare. Also includes controlled trials, methodology register, economic evaluation of interventions, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Communication Source

Content includes scholary journals and reviews deidcated to the fields of communication, mass media, linguistics, theatre, film, rhetoric, and related fields. Recent upgrade to Communication & Mass Media Complete (and its replacement).

  • Subjects:
  • Communication and Media
  • Film Resources
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Theatre and Speech

Company Profiles and More

Comprehensive industry and company (public and private) data for use in analyzing U.S. and foreign markets.

  • Subject:
  • Finance and Investment

Compustat

Historical fundamental and market data. Includes Compustat Global.

  • Subject:
  • Business

Computing Database

Comprehensive coverage of computer topics. Includes scholary journals, product reviews, and trade journals on database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, and more.

  • Subject:
  • Computer Science

Contemporary Literary Criticism

Criticism on authors who are currently active or who died after 1959. Includes volumes 1-383 from 1973 through 2015. The Library is no longer adding new volumes for this title.

Counseling and Therapy in Video 1

400 hours of training video from 1985 to 2010 covering realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Hosted by Alexander Street Press.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program - Videos
  • Psychology
  • Streaming Media

Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture

Broad history of crime in the long 19th century. Includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

All major aspects of criminology and criminal justice from national and international sources. Recently upgraded to full text version of this database.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Law
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Social Work

Criminal Justice Database

Supporting domestic and international research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

  • Subject:
  • Criminal Justice

D

Daily Mail Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this conservative British tabloid from 1896-2004.

Design & Applied Arts Index

Definitive abstract and index database covering all areas of design and craft from 1973 to current.

  • Subjects:
  • Art
  • Interior Design

Dictionary of American Regional English

Digital version of the dictionary featuring American regional vocabulary.

  • Subject:
  • English

Digital Public Library of America

Portal that contains the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Digital Theatre +

Video performances across theatre, ballet, opera and classical music as well as interviews with actors, directors, and backstage crew.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Streaming Media
  • Theatre and Speech

Directory of Open Access Books

Peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text

Millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations
NEW

Docuseek2 Complete Collection

Streaming documentary videos on a variety of social and environmental issues, primarily from Bullfrog and Icarus Films.

  • Subject:
  • New
  • Streaming Media

Duke University Press ebooks and journals

Scholarly journals and ebooks from Duke University Press covering the humanities and social sciences.

  • Subject:
  • General Collection E-Books

E

Early American Imprints, Series I

Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • English
  • History

Early Arabic Printed Books

Early printed books in Arabic script from 1475-1900. Includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.

Early English Books Online

Books in English from before 1700.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • English
  • History
  • History 4020

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database

Database focued on geology and earth science. Includes Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Geology

Ebook Central

Online books in psychology, business, economics, medicine, law, and more. 1 user per book at a time.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Over 3,000 ebooks on a variety of subjects. 1 user per book at a time.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books

Economist Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this weekly UK newspaper with emphasis on current events, politics, business and global trade. Coverage is from 1843-4 years ago.

EDGAR

Repository of US Securities and Exchange Commission filings.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Open Access - Social Science

Education Collection with ERIC

Articles and dissertations in primary, secondary, and higher education. Includes ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Education
  • Psychology

Eighteenth Century Collection Online

Over 180,000 titles including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more from the 18th century. Primarily in English from the UK.

Emerald Journals

Management journals including leadership, marketing, HR, information, engineering, and more. The Library has canceled its Emerald journal package effective January 1, 2016. Most Emerald journals are available via ABI/Inform Complete with a 1 year delay.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

Encyclopedia Britannica, world atlas, timelines, country comparisons, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • Reference Tools

Encyclopedia of Ancient History

Comprehensive collection of scholarship on the ancient Mediterranean world.

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Social work reference source.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • Social Work - eBooks

EndNote Web

Citation management tool Must create an individual account to use EndNote.

NEW

Environment Complete

Covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.

  • Subject:
  • Biology
  • New

Environmental Impact Statements Digests

Concise, readable abstracts derived from environmental impact statements issued by the federal government.

  • Subject:
  • Engineering

ERIC (UTC users: ProQuest version)

Education journal articles, reports, and white papers. A free version of ERIC sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education can be found here.

  • Subject:
  • Education

Essential Science Indicators

Analytical tool ranking authors, institutions, countries, and journals in 22 broad science and social science fields based on publication and citation performance.

Ethnographic Video Online

A comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Over 700 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Communication and Media
  • Geography
  • Religion
  • Sociology
  • Streaming Media
  • Women's Studies

Europeana

Portal for artworks, cultural items, and archival materials from participating institutions in Europe.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Europeana Historic Newspapers

Open access historical newspapers from a variety of European countries.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • News and Newspapers
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

F

Family Health Database

Covers a range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, obesity, sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, and dentistry.

Filmmakers Library Online

1,400+ Issues-based documentaries across academic disciplines. Hosted by Alexander Street Press.

  • Subject:
  • Streaming Media

Films on Demand

Films in a variety of subject areas: Communications, Philosophy, Religion, Psychology, History, Literatue.

  • Subject:
  • Streaming Media

Financial Times Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of one of the world's most authoriative business newspapers. Coverage is from 1888-2010.

G

Gale Literary Sources

Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Formerly known as Literature Resource Center.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Foreign Languages
  • Theatre and Speech

Gale NewsVault

Cross search Gale historical newspaper archives including the Economist, Times of London, Independent, Financial Times, and more.

Gale Primary Sources

Large set of primary source databases. Includes archival newspapers, government documents, museum archives, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • History
  • Political Science and Public Service

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Specialized electronic encyclopedias and other reference books on subjects ranging from medicine to biology to popular culture and more.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Reference Tools

General OneFile

Comprehensive general interest databases providing periodical news and information.

General Science Collection (Gale InfoTrac)

Coverage includes a variety of scientific subjects including geology, physics, math, nanotechnology, and engineering.

  • Subjects:
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Physics

GeoRef & GeoRef in Process

Geoscience literature from AGI covering the geology of North America from 1693-present and global geology from 1933-present. Covers all USGS publications as well as theses and dissertations.

  • Subjects:
  • Geography
  • Geology

Glassdoor Career Information

Information about careers and employers, including salaries by job, city, company; employee reviews of employers; job opening information for major U.S. employers.

  • Subject:
  • Careers and Test Preparation
NEW

Global Environmental Justice Documentaries

Streaming videos on human rights and environmental protection issues.

  • Subject:
  • New
  • Streaming Media

Google Books (some full text - see "About")

Search and preview millions of books scanned by Google.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly literature including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Special instructions for linking to UTC Library collections

  • Subjects:
  • Chemistry
  • Engineering
  • Physical Therapy

GPO Monthly Catalog

GPO Monthly Catalog contains more than 600,000 records for documents printed by the U.S. government from 1976-present.

  • Subject:
  • Law

Grove Dictionary of American Music

Comprehensive coverage of American Music including popular music, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, and musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups.

  • Subject:
  • Music

GuideStar

Provides non-profit data, including from the IRS. Access to most content requires a free account.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Open Access - Social Science

H

Harper's Weekly

America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

  • Subject:
  • History

Harvard University Press Books

Nearly 500 ebooks, mostly in the humanities and social sciences, from 2011-2015.

  • Subject:
  • General Collection E-Books

HathiTrust

Millions of published materials and records digitized by libraries and archives around the world, including books, periodicals, and  federal documents.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Consumer health resource with medical, statistical, health, and related information.

  • Subject:
  • Nutrition and Dietetics

Health Management Database

Focused on hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, ethics, and public health administration.

Health Reference Center - Academic

Nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, select consumer health sources, and video demonstrations.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

HeritageQuest Online

A collection of genealogy and local history (cities, towns, regions) research. Includes access to federal census data and images (1790-1940), full text to over 28,000 books, and more.

  • Subject:
  • History

Historical Abstracts

Index of historical articles from thousands of journals in a wide variety of languages covering world history from the 15th century to the present. Excludes the U.S. and Canada.

  • Subjects:
  • Foreign Languages
  • History
  • History 4020

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

540+ full text journals and 140+ ebooks covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present Trial

Historical Statistics of the U.S.

Compilation of the most important economic, social, and political statistics from the Statistical Abstracts of the U.S., extending as far back as the Colonial period.

  • Subjects:
  • Data Tools
  • Reference Tools
  • Sociology

HS Talks Business & Management Collection

Online video lectures and case studies on marketing, management, finance, accounting, strategy, and more.

  • Subject:
  • Business

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Archive index covering important humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907 to 1984

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Communication and Media
  • English
  • Foreign Languages
  • Interior Design
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Psychology
  • Religion
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Theatre and Speech

I

IBISWorld

Domestic and global industry market and procurement research from economic, demographic, and government sources.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Marketing

ICE Learning Center

Physical and Occupational Therapy videos including musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental & behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics.

  • Subjects:
  • Anatomy/Physiology
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Streaming Media

IEEE/IET Electronic Library

Current and archival access to IEEE conference proceedings, journals, and standards covering electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Limited to 50 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • Conference Proceedings
  • eJournal Collections
  • Engineering

Illustrated London News Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. Contains vivid pictoral commentary on world news from 1842-2003.

Independent Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this UK daily newspaper from 1986-2012.

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Provides insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century.

Informe Académico

Bilingual (english and Spanish) magazines, journals, and newspapers.

  • Subject:
  • Foreign Languages

InfoTrac NewsStand

Coverage of domestic and international newspapers.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

Institute of Physics Journals Archive

Contains archival physics and materials science content as well as some environmental science material.

International Bibliography of Art

Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.

  • Subject:
  • Art

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

Scholary journals, books and reviews that focus on economics, political science, anthropology, and sociology.

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Sociology

International Music Score Library Project

Music scores in the public domain.

  • Subjects:
  • Music
  • Open Access - Arts and Humanities

International Newsstream

Most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

Internet Archive

Millions of books, periodicals, sound and video recordings, and images, including a television news archive.

  • Subjects:
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

J

Journal Citation Reports

Make better publishing decisions using this resource that includes journal indicators such as Impact Factor, Eigenfactor and the Immediacy Index.

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences, excluding full text from the last 3-5 years.

  • Subjects:
  • Anthropology
  • Art
  • Communication and Media
  • Economics
  • eJournal Collections
  • English
  • Environmental Science
  • Foreign Languages
  • Geography
  • History
  • History 4020
  • Multisubject Databases
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Religion
  • Sociology
  • Theatre and Speech
  • Women's Studies

K

Kanopy Streaming Video

Educational and feature videos available across many disciplines. Click Here for Some Important Changes Coming to Kanopy at the UTC Library.

  • Subjects:
  • Foreign Languages
  • Streaming Media

Kids Infobits

Age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.

L

L'Annee Philologique

Coverage includes Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, and Greek and Roman archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, and other aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Foreign Languages
  • History
  • Philosophy

Latin America & Iberia Database

Academic journals that are locally published in a number of Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

  • Subject:
  • Foreign Languages

Latino Literature

Poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Foreign Languages

LEEDuser

Provides expert advice on LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) building certification. Includes forums, details on LEED credits, and tipsheets.

  • Subject:
  • Interior Design

Legal Information Institute

Federal and state statutes, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, international law, legal encyclopedias, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Law
  • Open Access - Social Science

LGBT Thought and Culture

Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • History
  • Sociology

LGBTQ History and Culture

Covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered.

Liberty Magazine Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this weekly American general interest magazine from 1924-1950.

Library & Information Science Abstracts

Index designed for library professionals and other information specialists.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

Digital collections from the Library of Congress on a wide variety of topics.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Foreign Languages

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library and information science.

  • Subject:
  • Education

Listener Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of a weekly newspaper published by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) from 1929-1991.

LitFinder

Access to literary works and authors including full-text poetry, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

  • Subject:
  • English

Loeb Classical Library

Hundreds of volumes of Latin and Greek texts with English translations Content in this database is not downloadable

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Foreign Languages
  • Philosophy
  • Religion

LOEX Quarterly

Journal covering library instruction and information literacy.

M

Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs

Comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court from 1832-1978.

Making of Modern Law: US and UK Legal Treatises

Full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises covering nearly every aspect of American and British law from 1800-1926.

Making of the Modern World

Digital replicas of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.

  • Subject:
  • History 4020

Materials Science & Engineering Database

Includes METADEX and Polymer Library databases, full-text titles from around the world, and the Copper Technical Reference Library.

  • Subject:
  • Engineering

MathSciNet

In-depth access to the scholarly literature of mathematics. Produced by the American Mathematical Society.

  • Subjects:
  • Astronomy
  • Economics
  • Mathematics

MEDLINE

International index to the literature of medicine, nursing, allied health, healthcare administration, life sciences, and biotechnology.

Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests In Print

Describes and reviews over 3,000 testing instruments used in psychology, business, and education. Note: does not contain the actual tests. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • eBooks
  • Education
  • Psychology

Merck Manual Professional Edition

Classic resource of medical diagnosis and therapy.

  • Subjects:
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine
  • Physical Therapy

MERLOT

Collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education, including openly licensed textbooks.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

Military and Intelligence Collection

Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.

  • Subject:
  • Criminal Justice

MLA Directory of Periodicals

Information about the journals and book series that publish material related to language and literature. MLA Directory of Periodicals is now on the EBSCOhost database platform.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Women's Studies

MLA International Bibliography

International coverage of academic works in modern languages, literature, folklore, language pedagogy, rhetoric, composition, and linguistics. MLA International Bibliography is now on the EBSCOhost database platform.

  • Subjects:
  • Communication and Media
  • English
  • Film Resources
  • Foreign Languages
  • Theatre and Speech

MRI/Mediamark Reporter

Detailed consumer demographics and consumer media preferences for thousands of brands/products. Users must obtain a registration code here and then create personal login with UTC email by clicking register. Users must re-register their accounts every 6 months. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Marketing

Music Index

Scholarly journals, book reviews and trade publications covering all aspects of classical and popular music.

  • Subject:
  • Music

N

National Center for Education Statistics

Data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Social Science

National Geographic Magazine Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this magazine from 1888-1994. Includes color photographs, articles, and maps.

Nature Publishing Group Journals

Well-respected journal group covering science, technology & medicine.

  • Subjects:
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • eJournal Collections
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Geology
  • Physics

Naxos Music Library

Classical music with some limited selections from other genres. Please click log out in the top left corner once you're done. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Music
  • Streaming Media

NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Open Access - Social Science

NCJRS Full-Text (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Justice and drug-related information.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Open Access - Social Science

New World Cinema

250 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors plus 50 award-winning shorts. Hosted by Alexander Street Press.

  • Subjects:
  • Foreign Languages
  • Streaming Media

New York Times Current and Historical Archive

Search both the current New York Times and archive back to 1851.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

New York Times Historical Archive

Full text to the New York Times from 1851-3 years ago. Also includes digitized NYT Index from 1851-1993, advertisements, and photos.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • History 4850
  • News and Newspapers
  • Political Science and Public Service

Nexis Uni

Legal and business information including court cases, statutes, law reviews, company profiles, and more. Also includes full-text news articles.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Criminal Justice
  • Film Resources
  • Finance and Investment
  • Law
  • Marketing
  • News and Newspapers
  • Political Science and Public Service

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from the 19th century.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Searchable archives of hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

North American Indian Drama

Contains plays by members of the North American Indigenous communities. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

North American Theatre

Contains plays by North American playwrights. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

North American Women's Drama

Contains plays by North American women. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

Nursing and Allied Health Database

Diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

Nursing Reference Center Plus

Provides evidenced-based resources such as core measures, care plans, management and leadership, regulatory and risk management, skills checklists, videos and images, continuing education modules, patient education handouts, and reference books. Trial

O

OAPEN Library

Scholarly ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

OER Commons

Digital library and network of open education resources.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

Open SUNY Textbooks

Open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

Open Textbook Library

Tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

OpenStax College

Free textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opinion articles, newspapers, and some primary sources related to modern controversial topics.

OSTI.GOV

Seventy plus years of research results from the Department of Energy. Includes articles, technical reports, data sets, patents, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Geology
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine
  • Physics

OTDBASE

Specialized index to the literature of occupational therapy worldwide.

  • Subject:
  • Occupational Therapy

OTSEARCH

Small specialized index focused solely on occupational therapy.

  • Subject:
  • Occupational Therapy

OVID Journals

Small publisher collection of health related full text journals.

  • Subjects:
  • eJournal Collections
  • Nursing and Medical

Oxford Bibliography of Criminology

Pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources in criminology.

  • Subject:
  • Criminal Justice

Oxford English Dictionary (Online)

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • English
  • Foreign Languages
  • Reference Tools

Oxford History of Western Music

Online reference collection that explores the rich and diverse tradition of Western music.

  • Subject:
  • Music

Oxford Reference

Reference works in the humanities and social sciences from Oxford University Press.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
  • Reference Tools
  • Religion

Oxford University Press Journals

Full-text scholarly journals in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

  • Subjects:
  • eJournal Collections
  • Philosophy
  • Religion

P

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index

Scholarly journals, e-books, government documents and trade journals in the fields of politics, international relations, human rights, law and more.

  • Subject:
  • Political Science and Public Service

Patrologia Latina

Comprises works of the Church Fathers starting with Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • Foreign Languages
  • History
  • Religion

Perseus Digital Library

History, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman, Arabic, Germanic, 19th Century American and Renaissance worlds, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Foreign Languages
  • History
  • Open Access - Arts and Humanities

Philosopher's Index

Comprehensive coverage on philosophy including epistemology, ethics, logic, and philosophy of various subjects.

  • Subject:
  • Philosophy

PhilPapers

Index and bibliography of philosophical articles, books, and websites spanning analytic, continental, and non-Western traditions.

  • Subject:
  • Philosophy

Physical Education Index

Access to the scholarly literature of physical education, coaching, athletic training, sports psychology and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Picture Post Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this UK photojournalism newspaper from 1938-1957.

PILOTS

Comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage of post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health aspects of traumatic events.

  • Subject:
  • Social Work

PLOS

Freely available scholarly research, expert commentary, and critical analysis in all areas of science and medicine.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine

Policy File Index

Content includes indexes, abstracts, and links directly to current research on virtually every public policy issue.

  • Subjects:
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Social Work

Political Science Complete

700 full text journals, 330 ebooks and 48,000 conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including comparative politics, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory Trial

Political Science Database

Small, targeted database of scholarly and trade literature in political science and international relations. Includes reports, blogs and podcasts.

  • Subject:
  • Political Science and Public Service

Primal Pictures 3D Human Anatomy and Physiology

Interactive 3D images and animations of human anatomy and physiology.

  • Subjects:
  • Anatomy/Physiology
  • Biology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Streaming Media

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Catalog records and digital images representing still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division at the Library of Congress.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Professional Collection

Includes magazines, journals, and newspapers for professional educators and administrators.

  • Subject:
  • Education

Project Gutenberg (free e-books)

Free online access to over 45,000 e-books that are in the public domain (in the U.S.).

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

Project MUSE

Scholarly journals, e-books, and reviews spanning the humanities and social sciences.

  • Subjects:
  • Art
  • Communication and Media
  • eJournal Collections
  • English
  • Foreign Languages
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Religion
  • Theatre and Speech
  • Women's Studies

ProQuest Central

Large multisubject database that includes fulltext scholarly, trade, and popular articles in all major disciplines.

  • Subjects:
  • English 1010/1011
  • Multisubject Databases

Psychology Database

Small database that covers journals in the field of psychology.

  • Subject:
  • Psychology

PsycInfo w/ PsycArticles

Top recommended database for clinical and social psychology. Includes an index of scholarly literature from the American Psychological Association.

  • Subjects:
  • Communication and Media
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Criminal Justice
  • Education
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Learning and Leadership
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Psychology
  • Women's Studies

Public Health Database

Covers disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences, offering in-depth scholarly insights into topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, etc.

PubMed

Freely available interface for the most comprehensive coverage of medical and biomedical literature.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Open Access - Science and Medicine
  • Physical Therapy

Punch Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this humorous and satirical magazine from 1841-1992.

R

Readers' Guide Retrospective

Archive index of subjects in the popular press from 1890-1982

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Theatre and Speech

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology.

  • Subject:
  • Religion

Religion Database

International periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.

Research in Context

Cross-disciplinary database for middle school students. Includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history.

S

Sabin Americana History and Culture

Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents from Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

Safari Tech Books Online

50 books on a variety information technology subjects. 1 user per book at a time.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • eBooks
  • Mathematics

SAGE Journals

Full text scholarly articles covering social and health science topics including criminal justice, psychology, education, nursing, nutrition, and more.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Criminal Justice
  • Education
  • eJournal Collections
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

SAGE Research Methods

A how-to database that guides users through the research process. Focused on social sciences, content includes ebooks, cases, videos, practice datasets and tools to help you get started with original research.

  • Subjects:
  • Research Tools
  • Social Work

Saylor.org

Online courses curated from open content found on the Web. Saylor is a great site to start your search for OER by subject.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Educational

ScholarBridge

Connects students and mentors by merging professor interests with research opportunities in a database. Users must register for a free account.

  • Subject:
  • Careers and Test Preparation

Science Magazine

Flagship journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Full text from 1997-current. Pre-1997 issues available via JSTOR.

ScienceDirect

Large collection of full text scholarly articles in the sciences and social sciences. Also includes a limited number of ebooks.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • eJournal Collections
  • Mathematics
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Psychology

SciFinder

A carefully curated collection of chemical information including chemical substances, reactions, and chemical literature. Users must first REGISTER here with their UTC email address.

  • Subject:
  • Chemistry

SciTech Premium Collection

Indexes and some full text in the areas of agriculture, biological, environmental, earth, atmospheric & aquatic sciences, advanced technologies & aerospace, materials science & engineering

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Engineering

Shakespeare Plays (BBC)

Television adaptations of all 37 plays by William Shakespeare, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Streaming Media
  • Theatre and Speech

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Comprehensive archive on the history of slavery. Contains books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries.

Small Business Resource Center

Small business management resources via a combination of periodicals and reference content.

  • Subject:
  • Business

Smithsonian Collections Online

Rare 19th and 20th century archival materials from the Smithonian's vast collections.

SocArXiv Preprints

Open archive of the social sciences.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Social Science

Social Science Premium Collection

Social Sciences journal indexes and full text covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Women's Studies

Social Services Abstracts

Current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

  • Subjects:
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Social Work Abstracts

Comprehensive coverage of social work literature including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Sociological Abstracts

International literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

Sociology Database

Coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, and includes dissertations on sociological topics.

  • Subjects:
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Criminal Justice statistics.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Open Access - Social Science

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Covers the scholarly literature of sports medicine, biomechanics, rehabilitation, coaching, fitness and related disciplines. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

  • Subjects:
  • Athletic Training, Exercise Science and Physiology
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Springer/Palgrave Journals and ebooks

Scholarly journals and ebooks from Springer and Palgrave covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • eJournal Collections
  • Engineering
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Mathematics
  • Social Work - eBooks

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

Company financial profiles, CFRA investment research, and more than 50 industry surveys.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Finance and Investment

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Peer-reviewed encyclopedia of more than 1,600 philosophical topics, written and edited by professional philosophers.

  • Subjects:
  • Open Access - Arts and Humanities
  • Philosophy

State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe

European and British government documents from 1500-1800.

  • Subject:
  • History 4020

Statista

Statistics portal providing access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

  • Subject:
  • Data Tools

Statistical Abstract of the US

Comprehensive summary of the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage from 2013-Present.

  • Subject:
  • Data Tools

Statistical Abstracts of the World

Comprehensive summary of statistics on social, politcial and economic conditions from 65+ countries.

  • Subject:
  • Data Tools

Student Opportunity Center

Connects students to experiential learning opportunities including conferences, publications, internships, scholarships, and more. Register for a free account with your UTC email address.

  • Subject:
  • Careers and Test Preparation

Student Resources in Context

Holistic topic overviews for high school students by integrating a multitude of materials including periodicals, reference sources, primary sources, and multimedia content.

  • Subject:
  • Education

Sunday Times of London Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of one of the world's newspapers of record from 1822-2006.

T

Taylor & Francis Journals

Scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.

  • Subjects:
  • Communication and Media
  • Counselor Education Program
  • eJournal Collections
  • History
  • Interior Design
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Religion
  • Theatre and Speech
  • Women's Studies

Telegraph Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this UK daily newspaper from 1855-2000.

Tennessean

Tennessean newspaper (Nashville) from 1999 to current.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

Tennessean Current and Historical Archive

Search both the current Nashville Tennessean and archive back to 1812.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

Tennessean Historical Archive

Archive of the Nashville Tennessean newspaper from 1812-2002.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • News and Newspapers
  • Political Science and Public Service

Tennessee Code Annotated

Statutory code for the State of Tennessee, includes all laws of a general and permanent nature as enacted by The Tennessee legislature.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Law

Testing & Education Reference Center

Test preparation guides covering college and graduate school entrance exams (GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, ACT, SAT, etc.), specialized tests (PRAXIS, NCLEX-PN, TOEFL, etc.) and numerous exam guides for civil service positions and the military. Must create free account to access content in this database. Choose content, click "start now,"then "register" tab and complete form.

  • Subjects:
  • Careers and Test Preparation
  • Education

Theatre in Video

Hundreds of performances and related documentaries. Hosted by Alexander Street Press.

  • Subjects:
  • Streaming Media
  • Theatre and Speech

Theses and Dissertations (via ProQuest)

UTC Theses and Dissertations from 2008-2012. Database also includes access to UT Knoxville Theses and Dissertations.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations (via WorldCat Discovery)

Print volumes available in UTC Library. To search within results, add AND "ENTER KEYWORDS HERE" to the search string that appears at the top of the result list.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

Times of London Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of one of the world's newspapers of record from 1785-6 years ago.

Times of London Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of this literature and critical opinion publication from 1902-5 years ago.

TOXLINE & Toxicology Abstracts

Literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens, and teratogens.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental Science

Transparent Language

Listening, speaking, reading, and writing lessons for 100+ languages. All users must create individual accounts by clicking on the sign up tab.

  • Subject:
  • Foreign Languages

Twentieth Century North American Drama

Contains plays by North American playwrights. Includes detailed information on productions, companies, and theaters.

  • Subject:
  • Theatre and Speech

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

Contemporary plays and production information from North America. Includes volumes 1-315 from 1978 through 2015. The Library is no longer adding new volumes for this title.

U

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Primary source database that includes more than More than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covers issues from the period before World War II through the 21st century.

  • Subject:
  • History 4850

Ulrichsweb (Ulrichs Periodicals Directory)

Detailed reference tool for periodical information (ISSN, peer-review status, etc.) in all subject areas.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Chemistry

Uniform Commercial Code

All articles (excluding comments) of the Uniform Commercial Code.

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Law
  • Open Access - Social Science

United States Code Annotated

Statutory code for the United States of America, including all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the United States Congress.

  • Subject:
  • Law

University of Michigan Press ebooks

Ebooks with an emphasis on performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies, and Asian and African studies

  • Subjects:
  • eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books

University Press Scholarship Online ebooks

A limited number of psychology and education books from various university presses.

  • Subjects:
  • Education eBooks
  • General Collection E-Books

UpToDate

Physician-authored expert reviews designed to answer point of care questions about patient diagnosis and treatment. Access to UpToDate is only available for current UTC students and faculty. Optional individual accounts can be created for access to the app.

  • Subject:
  • Nursing and Medical

Urban Studies Abstracts

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and reviews covering urban affairs, community development and urban history.

  • Subjects:
  • Interior Design
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Sociology

US and Canadian Law Reviews

Custom search of law reviews in Nexis Uni.

  • Subject:
  • Law

US Newsstream

Provides key national and regional news sources such as top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites.

  • Subject:
  • News and Newspapers

UTC Digital Collections

Local history manuscripts, university records, and rare books that document the cultural heritage of Chattanooga, the Tennessee Valley, and UTC.

UTC Echo Student Newspaper

Issues of the UTC student newspaper dating from 1888 to 2015.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • News and Newspapers

UTC Honors Theses

Honors theses authored by UTC undergraduate students from 2014 to present.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

UTC Masters Theses and Doctoral Dissertations

Masters theses and doctoral dissertations authored by UTC graduate students from 2008 to present.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

UTC Scholar

Research, creative works, and publications created and/or managed by UTC students and faculty, including theses, dissertations, journals, and proceedings.

  • Subject:
  • Open Access - Multidisciplinary

UTK Masters Theses and Doctoral Dissertations

Masters theses and doctoral dissertations authored by University of Tennessee at Knoxville graduate students.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

V

Value Line Research Center

Investment data including stocks, mutual funds, daily options, special situations, and convertibles. ratings, commentary, past and current performance and future outlooks.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Finance and Investment

Very Short Introductions Online from Oxford University Press

Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas.

  • Subjects:
  • General Collection E-Books
  • Philosophy

W

Wall Street Journal

Access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, curated newsletters, podcasts, a 4 year archive, WSJ Plus ebooks and more. Existing WSJ registered users click here. Must create an individual account to access this resource.

  • Subjects:
  • Accounting
  • Business
  • Economics
  • Finance and Investment
  • Marketing
  • News and Newspapers

Web of Science

Expansive multidisciplinary index to the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation analysis and management tools.

  • Subjects:
  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Multisubject Databases
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Physics
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

Wiley Online Library

Full-text schoilarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes Psychology and Humanities/Social Sciences journal backfiles and a limited number of ebooks.

  • Subject:
  • eJournal Collections

Women and Social Movements

Primary source documents that chronicle the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

  • Subjects:
  • History
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

World Scholar Historical Archive: Latin America and the Caribbean

Archive of digitized primary documents on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period. Includes reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data.

WorldCat

Catalog of books and other materials located in libraries worldwide.

  • Subjects:
  • Book Reviews, Publishers, and More
  • Conference Proceedings

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.

  • Subject:
  • Theses and Dissertations

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Covering political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

  • Subject:
  • Political Science and Public Service

WRDS

Information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources including Compustat.

  • Subject:
  • Business
Ask a Librarian