Skip to main content

Databases - S

Total results: 31

S

Sabin Americana History and Culture

Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents from Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

SAGE Journals

Full text scholarly articles covering social and health science topics including criminal justice, psychology, education, nursing, nutrition, and more. SAGE Journals Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Criminal Justice
  • Education
  • Political Science and Public Service
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

SAGE Research Methods

A how-to database that guides users through the research process. Focused on social sciences, content includes ebooks, cases, videos, practice datasets and tools to help you get started with original research.

  • Subject:
  • Social Work

Saylor.org

Online courses curated from open content found on the Web. Saylor is a great site to start your search for OER by subject.

Science (Gale OneFile)

Coverage includes a variety of scientific subjects including geology, physics, math, nanotechnology, and engineering. Formerly known as General Science Collection.

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Engineering
  • Environmental Science
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Physics

Science Magazine

Flagship journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Full text from 1997-current. Pre-1997 issues available via JSTOR.

ScienceDirect

Large collection of full text scholarly articles in the sciences and social sciences. Also includes a limited number of ebooks.

  • Subjects:
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Mathematics
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Psychology

SciFinder

A carefully curated collection of chemical information including chemical substances, reactions, and chemical literature. Users must first REGISTER here with their UTC email address. SciFinder Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Chemistry
  • Engineering

SciTech Premium Collection

Indexes and some full text in the areas of agriculture, biological, environmental, earth, atmospheric & aquatic sciences, advanced technologies & aerospace, materials science & engineering

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Engineering

Shakespeare Plays (BBC)

Television adaptations of all 37 plays by William Shakespeare, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.

  • Subjects:
  • English
  • Streaming Media
  • Theatre and Speech

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Comprehensive archive on the history of slavery. Contains books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries.

Smithsonian Collections Online

Rare 19th and 20th century archival materials from the Smithonian's vast collections.

SocArXiv Preprints

Open archive of the social sciences.

Social Science Premium Collection

Social Sciences journal indexes and full text covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice.

  • Subjects:
  • Counselor Education Program
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Women's Studies

Social Services Abstracts

Current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

  • Subjects:
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Social Work Abstracts

Comprehensive coverage of social work literature including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Social Work Abstracts Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Sociological Abstracts

International literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Sociological Abstracts Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Criminal Justice
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Women's Studies

Sociology Database

Coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts, and includes dissertations on sociological topics.

  • Subjects:
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Criminal Justice statistics.

  • Subject:
  • Criminal Justice

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Covers the scholarly literature of sports medicine, biomechanics, rehabilitation, coaching, fitness and related disciplines. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. SPORTDiscus with Full Text Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Nursing and Medical
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Sports Medicine & Education Index

Access the scholarly literature of coaching, athletic training, sports psychology and more. Formerly known as Physical Education Index. Sports Medicine & Education Index Tip Sheet

  • Subjects:
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physical Therapy

Springer/Palgrave Journals and ebooks

Scholarly journals and ebooks from Springer and Palgrave covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics

SpringerNature Experiments

Step-by-step laboratory protocols and research techniques in biomedicine and life sciences to help researchers set up labs. UTC has access to the following: Nature Methods from 2007-present, Nature Protocols from 2006-present, Springer Protocols from 1980-2018

  • Subjects:
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Engineering
  • Geology

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

Company financial profiles, CFRA investment research, and more than 50 industry surveys.

  • Subjects:
  • Business
  • Finance and Investment

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Peer-reviewed encyclopedia of more than 1,600 philosophical topics, written and edited by professional philosophers.

  • Subject:
  • Philosophy

State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe

European and British government documents from 1500-1800.

Statista

Statistics portal providing access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Statistical Abstract of the US

Comprehensive summary of the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Coverage from 2013-Present.

Statistical Abstracts of the World

Comprehensive summary of statistics on social, politcial and economic conditions from 65+ countries.

Student Resources in Context

Holistic topic overviews for high school students by integrating a multitude of materials including periodicals, reference sources, primary sources, and multimedia content.

  • Subject:
  • Education

Sunday Times of London Historical Archive

Complete searchable archive containing digital replicas of one of the world's newspapers of record from 1822-2006.

Ask a Librarian