English Databases
Databases contain searchable collections of published resources, including articles, ebooks, images, and more! Use this page to select the database that best meets your information needs.
Related Resources
- Quick Search
Search the library's physical resources, and many electronic resources, in a single search.
- Research Basics
Need help getting started? Begin with the basics!
- Database Access Help
Simple troubleshooting tips, details on how to report issues, and information about some of our databases.
- Electronic Resource Use Policy
Guidelines for using the library’s online resources.
Total results: 23
J
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences, excluding full text from the last 3-5 years.
- Subject:
- English
M
MLA International Bibliography
International coverage of academic works in modern languages, literature, folklore, language pedagogy, rhetoric, composition, and linguistics.
- Subject:
- English
G
Gale Literature
Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Subject:
- English
P
Project MUSE
Scholarly journals, e-books, and reviews spanning the humanities and social sciences.
- Subject:
- English
A
Arts and Humanities Database
Full text articles from contemporary journals in arts, humanities, cultural studies, philosophy, religion, history, literature, music, and more.
- Subject:
- English
L
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- Subject:
- English
H
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Archive index covering important humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907 to 1984
- Subject:
- English
D
Drama Online: TCG Play Collection
Plays representing the diverse voices of contemporary American theatre.
- Subject:
- English
E
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Contains major editions of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. Includes more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, and Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
- Subject:
- English
D
Drama Online: Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen
Recordings of Shakespeare plays performed live by leading actors on the Globe stage.
- Subject:
- English
L
LitFinder
Access to literary works and authors including full-text poetry, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
- Subject:
- English
Loeb Classical Library
Hundreds of volumes of Latin and Greek texts with English translations Content in this database is not downloadable
- Subject:
- English
LGBT Thought and Culture
Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- Subject:
- English
B
Black Thought & Culture
Non-fiction published works (essays, letters, speeches, etc.) of leading African Americans.
- Subject:
- English
L
Latino Literature
Poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
- Subject:
- English
E
Early American Imprints, Series I
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.
- Subject:
- English
G
Gale Primary Sources
Large set of primary source databases. Includes archival newspapers, government documents, museum archives, and more.
- Subject:
- English
B
British Literary Manuscripts
Digitized manuscripts of poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers by British authors from 1660-1900.
- Subject:
- English
S
Shakespeare Plays (BBC)
Television adaptations of all 37 plays by William Shakespeare, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
- Subject:
- English
D
Digital Theatre +
Video performances across theatre, ballet, opera and classical music as well as interviews with actors, directors, and backstage crew.
- Subject:
- English
O
Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
- Subject:
- English
D
Dictionary of American Regional English
Digital version of the dictionary featuring American regional vocabulary.
- Subject:
- English