History Databases
Databases contain searchable collections of published resources, including articles, ebooks, images, and more! Use this page to select the database that best meets your information needs.
Related Resources
- Quick Search
Search the library's physical resources, and many electronic resources, in a single search.
- Research Basics
Need help getting started? Begin with the basics!
- Database Access Help
Simple troubleshooting tips, details on how to report issues, and information about some of our databases.
- Electronic Resource Use Policy
Guidelines for using the library’s online resources.
Total results: 14
A
America History & Life
History, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Subject:
- History
H
Historical Abstracts
Index of historical articles from thousands of journals in a wide variety of languages covering world history from the 15th century to the present. Excludes the U.S. and Canada.
- Subject:
- History
J
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences, excluding full text from the last 3-5 years.
- Subject:
- History
P
Project MUSE
Scholarly journals, e-books, and reviews spanning the humanities and social sciences.
- Subject:
- History
G
Gale Primary Sources
Large set of primary source databases. Includes archival newspapers, government documents, museum archives, and more.
- Subject:
- History
P
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Subject:
- History
N
Newspapers.com: Southeast Collection
Provides access to newspapers from the southeast United States including 2000+ historical and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
- Subject:
- History
A
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
Comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912
- Subject:
- History
H
HeritageQuest Online
A collection of genealogy and local history (cities, towns, regions) research. Includes access to federal census data and images (1790-1940), full text to over 28,000 books, and more.
- Subject:
- History
D
Digital Public Library of America
Portal that contains the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Subject:
- History
C
B
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Contains over 3,000 primary source documents focused on Black Freedom from 1790-2000: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement, Civil War and Reconstruction, Jim Crow Era, New Deal and World War II, Civil Rights Movements, and the Contemporary Era.
- Subject:
- History
L
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections from the Library of Congress on a wide variety of topics.
- Subject:
- History
U
UTC Digital Collections
Local history manuscripts, university records, and rare books that document the cultural heritage of Chattanooga, the Tennessee Valley, and UTC.
- Subject:
- History